January 7

Pumpkin Boat Racers

Right now you might be thinking what the heck is a pumpkin boat. I was thinking the same until I found out? People carve giant pumpkins into boats and then race them. Pumpkin boats were started in Windsor, Nova Scotia. It is known for having great big pumpkins so it was perfect for having races using them.

The prize is $500 for the first place. Tony Wood won last year’s 2018 race. Rick Swanson got a Guinness World Record by traveling 25 miles in a pumpkin boat. The most common age of racers is 20-30 and sometimes children with an adult. The race happens every October unless something goes wrong. People use the paddles for steering and traveling in the pumpkin boats.

         

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Tags: ,

Posted January 7, 2020 by Drew in category Community, Student Posts

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Boat Racers

  1. Mrs. Bentley

    Dear Drew,

    I had never heard of pumpkin boats before either. I’ve carved pumpkins before, but I can’t imagine carving one that big. It looks like fun, but I bet it was cold. I don’t know if I could do it because those pumpkins weigh so much. Thank you for teaching me about the pumpkin regatta. That was a fun video. How long did the race last?

    Sincerely,
    Mrs. Bentley

    Reply
  2. Rachel

    Dear drew,

    I like your video .I had never seen a pumpkin race before.How big are the pumpkin. it looks like fun.I would love to do it one day .

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*